Two schools in Jackson County will play in different classifications during the next two school years.

The Alabama High School Athletic Association released its 2020-21, 2021-22 classifications and fall sports alignments on Tuesday, and Scottsboro and Pisgah are on the move.

Scottsboro will from Class 5A up to 6A while Pisgah dropped from Class 3A to 2A.

Meanwhile, North Jackson (4A), North Sand Mountain (2A), Section (2A), Skyline (1A) and Woodville (1A) all will remain in their current classification.

The reclassification numbers released Tuesday do not affect the 2019-20 school year.

AHSAA classifications are based on schools’ average daily attendance for grades 9-11 over the first 20 days after Labor Day. In prior reclassification cycles, the AHSAA counted grades 10-12 and ninth-grade holdbacks but switched this time to omitting the 12th-grade because those students obviously are not be eligible to play high school sports during the next reclassification cycle.

Scottsboro’s average daily attendance rose from 597.7 two years ago when it was the third largest 5A school to 608.35, which now has SHS as the 12th smallest school among the 59 Class 6A schools.

Pisgah’s mark fell from 234.3 to 205.05, as it went from the third smallest Class 3A school to the ninth largest 2A school.

Section’s number rose the most of any Jackson County school, as it went from 190.5 to 212.5 and from the 29th largest in Class 2A to the seventh largest. NSM had the largest decrease, going from 222.85 and the third largest Class 2A school two years ago to 18th with an average daily attendance number of 192.25. Woodville’s number dropped from 121.75 to 108, moving it from 30th largest in Class 1A to 40th.

North Jackson and Skyline saw their attendance figures remain roughly the same. North Jackson’s number increased slightly from 246.3 two years ago to 248.35, though the school is now the 23rd largest 4A after being 30th largest during the last reclassification cycle. Skyline’s number barley moved, going from 111.2 and 37th largest in Class 1A two years ago to 111.85 and 36th.

The reclassification for 2020-21, 2021-22 makes just the second time since the AHSAA expanded to six classifications in 1984 that Jackson County will not have a Class 3A team.

Aside from a run in Class 2A from 2000-2003, Pisgah has been in Class 3A every year since that expansion. Meanwhile, Scottsboro will be a Class 6A school for only the third time in his sports history.

North Jackson has been a Class 4A school and Skyline a 1A school since 2000 while Section has been a 2A school since 2006. Woodville has never been in a classification other than Class 1A. NSM has been Jackson County’s most frequent mover, having moved from Class 2A and 3A five times this century.

Other notable classification movers for the 2020-21, 2021-22 classifications were Fyffe, Collinsville, Ohatchee, Asbury, Hokes Bluff and Reeltown to Class 3A; Cedar Bluff to 1A; Mars Hill Bible, Spring Garden, Lanett and Randolph County to 2A; Etowah, New Hope, Madison Academy and Madison County to 4A; Arab to 6A; and Albertville to 7A.

Because of the competitive balance rule in place for private schools, the AHSAA will not release its winter and spring sports alignments until after those seasons’ sports conclude.

Here are the 2020, 2021 AHSAA Fall Sports alignments for schools in Jackson County:


Class 6A Section 6 — Scottsboro, Athens, Buckhorn, Columbia, Decatur, Hartselle, Hazel Green, Muscle Shoals, Randolph

Class 4A, Section 2 — North Jackson, Anniston, Ashville, Cherokee County, DAR, Etowah, Handley, Jacksonville, Munford, New Hope, Oneonta, White Plains

Class 1A-2A, Section 4  — NSM, Pisgah, Section, Skyline, Woodville, Athens Bible, Cedar Bluff, Decatur Heritage, Falkville, Ider, Lindsay Lane, Oakwood, Sand Rock, Tanner


Class 6A Region 7 — Scottsboro, Arab, Fort Payne, Oxford, Pell City, Southside-Gadsden, Springville

Class 4A Region 7 — North Jackson, DAR, Madison Academy, Madison County, New Hope, Randolph, St. John Paul II, Westminster Christian

Class 2A Region 7 — NSM, Pisgah, Section, Falkville, Ider, Tanner, Whitesburg Christian

Class 1A Region 7 — Woodville, Appalachian, Cedar Bluff, Coosa Christian, Gaylesville, Sumiton Christian, Valley Head


Class 6A-7A, Section 3 — Scottsboro, Arab, Athens, Austin, Bob Jones, Buckhorn, Columbia, Cullman, Decatur, Florence, Grissom, Hartselle, Hazel Green, Huntsville, James Clemens, Muscle Shoals, Sparkman, Westminster Christian, Whitesburg Christian


Class 6A Area 15 — Scottsboro, Arab, Fort Payne

Class 4A Area 14 — North Jackson, DAR, New Hope, Madison County

Class 2A Area 15 — NSM, Pisgah, Ider

Class 1A Area 15 — Woodville, Decatur Heritage, Lindsay Lane, Oakwood Adventist

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.