NSM quarterback Landon Green was named the Class 2A Region 8 Co-Offensive MVP.

Class 2A Region 8 was an extremely competitive region this past high school football season, producing the 2019 state champion, two state semifinal teams and three state quarterfinal teams.

And many of the players who helped make it so challenging have been recognized for their efforts.

The region’s coaches have released the Class 2A All-Region 8 Team, and a number of North Sand Mountain and Section players have been recognized. The region also included Asbury, Cedar Bluff, Collinsville, Fyffe, Ider and Sand Rock. Fyffe (15-0) won the state championship, Collinsville (12-2) lost to Fyffe in the state semifinals while NSM (9-4) advanced to the quarterfinals.

NSM quarterback Landon Green was selected the Co-Offensive MVP along with quarterback Zach Pyron of state champion Fyffe. Green, who was named second-team all-state and was the Jackson County Player of the Year, completed 130 of 207 passes for 2,325 yards and 30 touchdowns and rushed for 402 yards and 10 touchdowns to help NSM reach the state quarterfinals for the first time in program history.  

Along with Green, NSM had five other players named all-region and four honorable mentions. Earning all-region honors were running back/defensive back Damon Gentle, linebacker/wide receiver/running back Cade McBryar, wide receiver/defensive back Lake Bell, running back/linebacker Fernando Luna and wide receiver/defensive back Derek Bearden. NSM’s honorable mention selections were wide receiver Jayden Culpepper, wide receiver Jonah Pennington, offensive and defensive lineman Logan Davis and offensive and defensive lineman Tanner Boatfield.

Section’s all-region selections were offensive lineman/linebacker Luke McKee, running back/linebacker Drake McCutchen and offensive lineman/linebacker Caleb Bryant. Section’s honorable mention selections were running back/linebacker Dylan Rider, offensive/defensive lineman Jared Reed, tight end/defensive end Kade Harper, quarterback/defensive back Jace Holcomb, wide receiver/defensive back Gabe Hilley and running back/linebacker Jr. Walker.

Collinsville quarterback Kaleb Jones was named the Region Player of the Year, while the Co-Defensive MVPs were Fyffe’s Eli Benefield and Cedar Bluff’s Gunnar Bailey.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.