Local cross country runners posted solid team and individual finishes at the Scottsboro Invitational.

Pisgah posted a fifth-place finish with 147 points while Section finished 11th (280) in the Scottsboro Invitational’s Small School (Class 1A-4A) Girls 5K race Saturday at the John R. Esslinger Trail of Champions.

North Jackson and Skyline did not factor in the team standings.

Rhylee Bell led with Pisgah with a 23rd-place finish (25:08.43) while Briley Hembree was 27th (25:26.62), Kaylea Griffis 30th (25:41.25), Serenity Olinger 32nd (26:04.09), Kaylynn Morgan 36th (26:21.41), Jazimine Wilson 37th (26:23.93), Ally Darwin 38th (26:26.40), Lauren Peek 44th (26:50.44) and Amanda Davidson 85th (32:15.71).

For Section, Jennifer Vega posted a 14th-place finish with a time of 24:17.97. Madison Armstrong finished 81st (31:30.11), Carley Patterson 82nd (31:30.18), Cindel Myers 83rd (31:55.76) and Morgan Armstrong 84th (31:58.48).Running as individuals, North Jackson’s Emily Gilley finished 41st (26:36.26), Delana Pierce 42nd (26:36.34) and Melissa Cardinas 103rd (38:05.70). For Skyline, Katie Roach was 66th (28:42.46), Joslyn Boatwright 92nd (34:07.21), Kiera Ivy 93rd (24:59.55) and Kayla Skipper 104th (38:47.55).

In the Small School varsity boys 5K race, Pisgah finished seventh (216) while North Jackson was eighth (229) and Skyline 13th (323). Section and Woodville did not factor in the team standings. Defending Class 3A state champion Pleasant Valley won the team title with a winning low score of 58 points.

Tristan Little was Pisgah’s top finisher, placing 20th with a time of 19:28.68. Zach Cornelison was 28th (20:13.02), Trey Barrentine 55th (22:11.95), Tanner Baine 76th (23:24.29), Austin Wilson 78th (23:35.96), Bob Johnson 79th (23:38.15), Bryant Overdear 93rd (24:34.54), Holden Goff 119th (27:44.19), Austin Mabry 121st (28:00.06), Bailey Johnson 125th (29:07.71) and Alex Elizondo 129th (33:20.28). Abraham Castro was North Jackson’s top finisher, placing 30th (20:23.32) with teammate Daniel Fiegel finishing 34th (20:47.38). Wences Mendez was 59th (22:21.30), Alex Roper 65th (22:43.94), Edgar Sanchez 83rd (23:56.00), Andrew Fiegel 90th (24:28.95), Jay Yates 106th (25:15.42) and Will Rick 108th (25:45.39).

For Skyline, Nathan Olinger placed 49th (21:43.84) while Tristan Roach was 68th (22:52.79), Bryant Kennamer 71st (23:03.18), JT Hastings 117th (27:27.19), Karson Treece 120th (27:59.97) and Scott York 122nd (28:39.82). Running as an individual, Section’s Ethan Lemieux finished 15th (27:26.09) while Woodville’s Russell Roswal was 130th (34:40.27). 

Geraldine’s Collin Mayfield won the small school boys race with a time of 16:04.97.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.