The Jackson County Basketball Coaches Association has released its 2020-21 All-Jackson County Boys Basketball Team:

Jackson County Player of the Year

Russ Marr, North Sand Mountain

The senior and Sewanee signee was the county's leading scorer for a team that averaged more than 90 points per game. He averaged 25.2 points, 3.7 rebounds, three assists and 2.5 steals per game for the 25-win Bison, who won both county and area titles. Marr became NSM's all-time leading scorer during the 2020-21 season, finishing with 2,259 career points. He was an ASWA Class 2A second-team all-state selection and a member of the Sand Mountain Super 6.

 Jackson County Coach of the Year

Cole Hicks, NSM

The NSM alum coached the Bison to a 25-6 record with the Bison winning both Jackson County Tournament and Class 2A Area 15 Tournament championships. The high-scoring Bison, who were ranked No. 2 in the final ASWA rankings, advanced to the Class 2A Northeast Regional semifinals, where they suffered a 93-85 loss at No. 1 and eventual state champion Midfield. Hicks picked up his 100th career win (seven combined seasons at NSM at North Jackson) last season.


Weston Avans, Skyline

Jake Hendricks, Pisgah

Luke Maples, NSM

Logan Patterson, Section

Jackson Peek, Woodville 


Derek Bearden, NSM

Jaylon Clements, Skyline

Jacob Cooper, Section

Alex Guinn, Section

Cade Reed, North Jackson


Zac Cornelison, Pisgah

Brady Cunningham, North Jackson

Caleb Dolberry, Woodville

Logan Evans, Skyline

Chandler Sullivan, NSM

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.