Award finalist

North Jackson running back and Mississippi State signee Lee Witherspoon (5) is a finalist for the ASWA's Class 4A Back of the Year award.

The accolades continue to roll in for North Jackson’s Lee Witherspoon.

The senior running back and Mississippi State signee has been named a finalist for the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s Class 4A Back of the Year award.

The back and lineman of the year awards for each classification, as well as the ASWA’s Alabama Mr. Football Award — all finalist are eligible for Mr. Football — will be announced during the ASWA’s football awards banquet at the Renaissance in Montgomery on Jan. 15.

Witherspoon, a Class 4A first-team all-state selection, enjoyed a record-setting season while helping North Jackson win the Class 4A Region 7 championship and post an 11-1 record. Witherspoon set state records for touchdowns (59) and rushing touchdowns (53) while rushing for a North Jackson single-season school-record 2,846 yards on 148 carries, an average of 19.3 yards per carry. He eclipsed the 200-yard mark in eight games and the 300-yard mark in four games.

The others 4A Back of the Year finalists are Hokes Bluff junior running back Darrian Meads and Montevallo junior wide receiver JJ Evans.

Meads ran for 2,634 yards and 34 touchdowns for Hokes Bluff. Evans, who holds offers from Alabama, Auburn, Clemson, Georgia, LSU, Texas A&M and USC, caught 74 passes for 1706 yards and 18 touchdowns for Montevallo.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.